Dude, babe at 9 o’clock giving you the eye…

I’m a born loser when it comes to relationships and love.
As far as it goes with women, I can’t “see the signs”, or read the body language, or even notice someone noticing me.

My general rule of thumb is everyone finds me an awesome guy (sorry Miz, its true), and will never see me as anything more than that.

After a LONG time of being miserable, broody and self loathing about it, I’ve gained a great deal of acceptance with the solitary life I live.

On occasion though, I fall prey to the trappings those who carelessly blurt out crazy things “you should come down and visit”, or “I’d love to see you again, how about tonight”

I accept and set plans in motion to take them up on such offers, only to be made a fool of…each and every time.

Why do girls say these things? Why give hope for no reason? Is it a reflex action so as not to appear as a beeyatch…

(At this point the infamous Friends episode where Chandler goes out with Rachem’s boss and can’t actually tell her he doesn’t want to see her again, so he keeps giving her hope, is playing in my head)

If I don’t want to see someone, or don’t like hanging out with them, I’m honest about it. Sometimes offensively so, but hey, why play games with people? That’s just mean.

If you are someone I know, either in person or online, and a member of the female population, chances are I’ve flirted with you at one point or another, and gotten nowhere.

But have YOU ever given me signs I’ve just been to dumb to see? Seriously, I’d love to know.

Chatting to a friend tonight, I mentioned that I really don’t want to be interested in anyone again (too late she cried)…it’s simply just too draining. You spend all this time and energy trying to see signs that aren’t there, offering everything of yourself. For what? Only to be disappointed and to make a right royal fool of yourself…no thanks, I’m done with that.

Does it work both ways though? Are there those trying this with me and not getting anywhere?

Perhaps it’s all about the right combination of give and take…

Some of my closer friends always grow concerned when I like someone, with good reason, but I think those days are long gone now, and my love live will always remain one of the great unsolved mysteries of our time.

Now if we can just figure out why there are still couples who wear matching tracksuits….

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Dude, babe at 9 o’clock giving you the eye…”

  1. Burgsworld: The Essential Collection – Part 3: Surviving Love & Life « Burgs World – A guide to cutting through the stupidity of life Says:

    […] Dude, babe at 9 o’clock giving you the eye… My original thoughts on signals girls give off…they clearly haven’t change much over the years. […]

  2. Sheree Says:

    Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for novice blog writers? I’d
    certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

