RIP John Hughes (1950-2009)

Another day, another Iconic death.

John Hughes 01
Today we lost one of the most loved writer/directors in John Hughes.

Hughes died of a heart attack at the age of 59, but left us with movies that will last us for the rest of our lives.

If you grew up a teen in the 80s, there’s no way his work didn’t have an impact your youth.

He wrote and directed:
Sixteen Candles
The Breakfast Club
Weird Science
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
Planes, Trains & Automobiles

When he wasn’t directing however, he continued his writing work with classics such as:

National Lampoons Vacation movies
Some Kind of Wonderful
The Great Outdoors
Home Alone
Beethoven

Of course his body of work included so much more, each of the above movies had a significant impact on both my love for movies and writing.

Hughes showcased the best in young and upcoming talent, and got the best out of comic legends. John Candy, Steve Martin, Charles Grodin, Chevy Chase, Dan Ackroyd, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez,Macaulay Culkin, Anthony Michael Hall,Matthew Broderick

I always hoped Hughes would give us one more classic, but he long ago retired from directing, and now…well…it just simply one of those thing that will never happen.

RIP John Hughes, and thank you for making me love movies.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “RIP John Hughes (1950-2009)”

  1. Brett Schewitz Says:

    tough one…. between ferris bueller and breakfast club

  2. Ann Says:

    NATIONAL LAMPOONS CHRISTMAS VACATION MY ALL TIME FAV MOVIE (YES IT’S TRUE)

    The news of MJ didn’t stir me too much.

    Today I have tears in my eyes, my nose is stinging and I have a lump in my throat.

    Without a doubt John Hughes was the soundtrack to my teen years and probably responsible for the best memories of that horrible time!

    Where my teenagers can recite every line to Napoleon or Mean Girls, I can proudly say I can do the same for Breakfast Club, Ferris, 16 Candles, Xmas Va-ca, Va-ca 1, Pretty in Pink (best 80’s soundtrack EVER)

    The master of stereotypes and probably pioneer of observation humor. He helped millions of teens accept who they were and gave them innocent hero’s to worship without glamour and guns. Ferris, Jake Ryan, Johnny Bender, Andy Walsh, Duckie, Long Duk Dong, and even Farmer Ted (there so many more!)

    When watching a John Hughes movie – for less than 2 hours – we could all “fit in”

    Thank you John Hughes for normalising my dysfunctional homelife and making me feel like a normal teen!

Leave a Reply

