My Top 60 Soundtracks(Part 4)

Another day, another installment of my countdown…

30. Threesome
threesome_f
– This really feels like its ranked for too high considering the quality of some of the albums that came before it on my list, but for some reason, it really feels right being in the Top 30. Weird, just like the movie.
Fave tracks: “Bizarre Love Triangle” – New order, “Dancing Barefoot” – U2 & “That Was The Day” – The The

29. Fast Time At Ridgemont High
Front
– Iconic movie, if somewhat dated… the soundtrack really only works for die-hard fans of the movie in my opinion. Which works just fine for me.
Fave Tracks: “Somebody’s Baby” – Jackson Browne, “Love Rules” – Don Henley & “fast Times at Ridgemont High” – Sammy Hagar.

28. Armageddon
OST_Armageddon
-Sure, the movie is an over the top Popcorn extravaganza like only Jerry Bruckheimer can give us…but it works. And Bruce Willis save the world.
Fave tracks: All the Aerosmith tracks (yes including “I dont wanna miss a thing”, solely because it gave them their only #1), and most of the others too (cop out i know!)

27. Forrest Gump
FG
– Can’t say I’m a Tom Hanks fan, but the man makes AMAZING movies. This 2 disc set has an endless array of out and out classics.
Fave Tracks: pick one – Elvis, Wilson Pickett, Joan Baez, Creedance, Beach Boys, The Doors, Simon & Garfunkel, Jefferson Airplane, The Byrds, Randy Newman, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Fleetwood Mac….(see neither can I)

26. Velvet Goldmine
VG
– throw in some Glam Rock, add a touch of modern Rock and you get one kick @ss selection.
Fave Tracks: “20th Century Boy” – Placebo, “We Are The Boys” – Pulp & “Diamond Meadows” – T.Rex

25. Almost Famous
almost_famous
– Great selection of classics here…and is makes the list on the strength of that alone. I cannot tell a lie here… I havent seen this movie in its entirety. It would probably list higher if I did.
Fave Tracks: “Simple Man” – Lynyrd Skynyrd, “One Way Out” Allman Brothers, “Tiny Dancer” – Elton John

24. Dead man Walking
deadman
– Anyone who ever doubts the mad skills of Sean Penn needs to see this movie. It was the soundtrack that made me realize how much of a genius Eddie Vedder is (although I still HATE Pearl Jam…weird)
Fave Tracks: “The Face of Love” – Eddie Vedder & Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, “Dead Man Walkin’ – Bruce Springsteen, “In Your Mind” – Johnny Cash.

23. The Dark Knight
darkknight1
– The only out and out Score on my countdown (Gladiator & Lord Of The Rings just missed the cut). Superb and effective. Got robbed of an Oscar. (Or as a friend of mine would say, “I Still can’t believe Dark Knight didnt win Best Film”)
Fave Tracks: “Why So Serious” – by composers Hans Zimmer & James Newton Howard chills!

22. Tank Girl
tankgirl
– this movie came about during a very poignant time in my life, but while the movie has since been forgotten, the soundtrack will always have special memories for me.
Fave Tracks: “Aurora” – Veruca Salt, “Army of Me” – Bjork, “Roads”- Portishead & “Shove” – L7

21. Stranger Than Fiction
stranger
– This for me is Will Ferrel’s finest performance as an actor (even though Anchorman was the shiz), and the movie is perfectly compliments by a phenomenal soundtrack.
Fave Tracks: “The Book I Write” – Spoon, “That’s Entertainment” – The Jam & “Gone Missing” – Maximo Park

Top 20 soon! Stay Tuned!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “My Top 60 Soundtracks(Part 4)”

  1. Sugafoot Says:

    You havent seen “Almost famous” in its entirety ? dude….. im in love with this movie…. ok and Kate hudson in this move, ok and he awesomeness of the music Journo thing… yeah yeah I dig this movie in its entirety 😉

Leave a Reply

