Happy New Year…Let’s Make Some Memories?


I gave a hobo 3 grand this morning.

….it was the most selfish thing I’ve done in a while.

Why? Well because I wanted to give him R10 000….but the atm would had a limit of R3000, and I felt that was more than enough for my experiment.

You see I did it for my own reasons…I wanted to see if I was the kind of person who could do that. (yes I know he probably bought R3000 worth of liquor)

Having come into a lot of money recently (I earned it the hard way in truth), I have been testing myself lately. Would money mean more to me than it used to?

I have learned the value of money, having lost everything and not even being in a position to buy a can of cooldrink if I wanted to tends to teach you a very hard life lesson.

I’ve been ok financially this past year, except for the odd unexpected expense.

But after losing 4 of my 9 lives in 2010, the year ended with promise….or rather a promise to myself.

I want to do good things with my life. I want to do good things for people, because that’s what makes me happiest…BUT….people need to be deserving of this.

Some people might be thinking I have a God complex, and I guess they wouldn’t be wrong (the controversial part of me wants to say God has a Burg complex)…but I do things because I can.

Looking through my material positions, I have everything I want. Except – a collection of happiness. I don’t have pictures of me smiling. I don’t have pictures of me with friends, heck I hardly even have my memories from the amazing things I’ve done in my life anymore – we have the hijacking at gun point to thank for that. Because those criminals clearly needed my external hard drive of memories from the last 12 years stored on it, more than I did.

I started a contest last year to take someone to New York …flight and accommodation paid for. There were those that I thought would immediately deserve it…and those that I thought could earn it. However as soon as I stopped blabbing about it…people stopped making an effort to show me they deserved it. I was disappointed to say the least…I understood they had other more important things going on, sure. BUT it saddened me that I didn’t really have the closeness with someone I crave. Its nobodies fault but my own.

We can’t buy friendships and relationships, we build them. Which is something I clearly haven’t done…and let’s be honest I’m not about to start now.

That being said, the New York trip is still very much on (as may a surprise second trip to somewhere cool)…and I may in fact end up drawing a name out of a hat…like I did with the hobo maybe. Right place right time?

Back to the said money I won. I’ve done everything with it. Paid off any debts I had, splurged on my hobbies, invested in Art, saved, given money away, stocked the house with food, spoilt people etc. etc. etc…

There are goals to accomplish this year, which i will address in a later blog, but for now….

…let’s make some memories!

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Happy New Year…Let’s Make Some Memories?”

  1. Dre Says:

    You won the money? Cool! How?

  2. Leigh Lobotomy! Says:

    I would have loved to see the look on that hobo’s face.

  3. ChaseK8 Says:

    That is a seriously amazing thing to do, the possible difference you could make in someones life through that one selfless act is endless. You are an inspiring person, seriously. I don’t think I know one person who could do such a generous (and risky) thing, without expecting something in return.

    Making others happy, and providing people with chances to succeed are the best ways to make yourself happy. Back to the simplicity of “give that which you wish to recieve in return.”

    You have touched my heart, and made me think.

    I truly hope that this year finds you all the happiness you desire and deserve. You are an amazing person, Thank-you!!

  4. kevinmorente Says:

    Nothing much is really certain when things aren’t going the way we wanted it. I had been longing for something that would help be a better person but there are priorities that I still need to focus on. Hope you find the right person for you.

Leave a Reply

