“Hey didn’t I see you out with a hot girl last night…?”

This is my 99th blog on this site, and while I’ve actually been blogging for over 13 years now, I think it’s a safe bet to say none of my previous diary/blog sites have been anywhere as close to this one in terms of popularity. I thank you the readers for that.

What’s kept my views soaring is my honesty. Or so I like to believe. I’ve revealed so much on these blogs with you all, and for this 99th entry, I will do what I always do. Speak the very uncomfortable truth.

So I went out last night, and unless you’ve been living under a rock, you would have known that I was going out with a girl I liked, to movies.

The big debate was as to if this was it fact a date.

Looking at it now a day later, I guess the honest answer is – no. It was just two friends going to movies….story of my life eh?

I’d like to share the build up to the evening and the problems I have with myself that may forever prevent me from ever being more than a friend to someone.

I had a massively busy day yesterday, which thankfully kept my mind from over thinking that I was going to see said girl later in the evening. Which I tend to do – over thinking is what I’m known for. I get so worked up if I’m going out with a girl that I actually feel sick to my stomach. The tension becomes so great that the noises that come from my stomach could signal an air raid if we were a small town in World War II.

The day progressed fairly quickly, but as the afternoon approached the paranoia set in. Every time a text message came in on my phone, I feared the worst. CANCELLED!…but instead it was just a Facebook notification of one of you lot’s sarcastic comments on my status messages.

Eventually I got a text in the late afternoon from said girl confirming time and place….and unusual event in my life.

I killed time at work as the meeting place was just down the road. Brushed my teeth a few times, chewed about 6 sticks of gum, and tried to wet my hair enough to make it look like it had a “style”.

Eventually the time approached. I arrived at the mall. Parked…got out, realized it was still 15 minutes before our meeting time…then got back in and moved my car closer to the entrance…which helped eat up at least 7 more seconds.

I went up to the cinema, only to realize that the movie we wanted to see wasn’t showing there. The natural reaction of course was “I’m at the wrong shopping centre!”

I quickly texted her and she called me back to say she was there too. So I went down the escalator to meet her just outside the book store (by the way, any girl who can be found in a book store is my kinda girl), as I rode the moving stairs I saw her in the distance. My god she was beautiful.

Of course everything became slow motion at that point and I swear I could hear the song “dun dun dun dun dun dun dun dun dun dun dun dun, Mr Sandman…..bring me a dream, make her the cutest I’ve ever seen.”

An awkward hug later and we proceeded to determine what happened to the movie that we could of sworn was showing here. Anyways, long story short, it was showing at the art cinema further down the way in the centre.

We arrived there and I confidently asked for “2 tickets for Black Swan please!”

Unfortunately…there we only 2 tickets left…and they were RIGHT in the front row. She didn’t seem to mind, and I fell into the lame guy joke trap of “at least we’ll see if before everyone else”…which as you know is listed as a reason I hate going to the cinema in a previous blog.

Of course it was awkward visually…and being a vertigo sufferer…it was making me rather ill, especially as I had to try split my view between this giant close up screen and keeping and eye on her for any sort of comforting smile.

While the movie was brilliant and gripping, it had its moments of awkwardness, such as having to watch Mila Kunis go down on Natalie Portman and not being able to react in a manner befitting of such a momentous man law occasion. Instead having the screen basically pressed up against my nose whole trying to act casual with a hot girl next to me.

When the movie ended, there was a stunned silence from the audience and those who spoke spoke only of Natalie’s “ballet feet”.

We left and proceeded to leave the cinema, I threw out a few hints about getting something to eat, which were met with “I so rarely leave a movie feeling like I don’t have an appetite, but this is one such occasion”…ok that was as good a hint as any.

Assumedly we began walking to our cars, where the nail was firmly knocked into the coffin with one of those inappropriate guys who walk around trying to sell flowers to couples. His offer was “20 bucks for the whole lot”, her natural reaction was to say no thanks, before I could even make an attempt to buy her a flower.

We paid our parking fees, and ended of with a hug (not as awkward as the meeting one), and I walked back to my car.

As I sat alone at McDonalds eating a burger, I couldn’t help but think to myself…

“Man..20 bucks for those flowers was a damn good deal.”

So that was my night out, which some of you referred to as a date. I would like to elaborate on a certain topic a bit more that I feel is my major downfall when it comes to the opposite sex…regarding intimacy and affection such has hugging and holding hands, so check back later and I’ll amend this blog.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to ““Hey didn’t I see you out with a hot girl last night…?””

  1. Darren Says:

    Awesomeness!
    Cannot fault this but for the fact that a single “dun” is missing in your song 😉

  2. Burgsworld: The Essential Collection – Part 3: Surviving Love & Life « Burgs World – A guide to cutting through the stupidity of life Says:

    […] “Hey didn’t I see you out with a hot girl last night…?” Yes you did. I still like her, but we haven’t seen each other since this day […]

Leave a Reply

