The Truth Shall Set You Free

A few weeks ago I posted a picture of myself with my idol, Bret The Hitman Hart -one of the happiest moments of my life. However one person commented saying “you could’ve looked slightly more excited.” I was actually offended by the comment. I don’t really smile anymore, and I by no means have a big toothy Cheshire cat smile, however this was the happiest I’ve been in years. I don’t smile anymore. You won’t really find pictures of smiling.

I’ve mulled over that comment since it was said, and with the events of the last few weeks, the one question that I keep asking myself is, what makes me happy?

I’m not happy, I haven’t been for the longest time. I have fleeting moments where thing are tolerable. But nothing more than that.

My life has been a constant struggle and the truth of the matter is the sadness has engulfed me.

It’s very difficult to explain, and when I do try, I get copious amounts of advice about how things can’t be that bad, or how things will turn around, or that there’s something out there waiting for me. All words which people feel they should say to help “keep my chin up”.

Honesty has always been a very important part of my blog (and my life), and right now I’d life to address three aspects of my life namely Life, Love & Career.

Life

I’m tired…Of everything. I can’t do it anymore. Not the way I’m living it anyway. I get so many people making suggestions as to what to change in my life, but they don’t know the truth, and they don’t know the pressure I deal with while constantly having to keep my depression in check.

I can’t deal with the repetition. From coming home and having to hear the same stories about how the dog pee’d on the potplants or what the neighbours did, to hearing the same jokes from the same people.

I can’t deal with this country, the government, the strikes, the shortages, the service, the delivery, the lack of educated people.

I can’t travel on the roads anymore. I can’t deal with the complete arrogance and apathy towards the rules of the road. It’s bad. Real bad. It’s the wild wild west out there.

There are so many people that tell me that I must be thankful for what I’ve got, but the truth of the matter is I’m not. Their idea of happiness is a 9-5 job with an income, a house with 4 walls and a family. That’s not my idea of happiness. I believe there is more out there for me. Please don’t get me wrong, if this is what makes you happy, then good for you, you’ve found your element of happiness, but please don’t try and convince me your way is my way.

I can’t fake a smile, and laugh anymore. People have started to notice too. I fear I’m becoming bitter towards the world.

Love

I am so lonely. Unbelievably so. Being a 33yr old guy without a partner, lover, girlfriend is hard. (That’s what she said.). I’m so tired of people saying that “when the time is right”, “she’s out there”, “it’s better to be single” you know, all the clichéd comments. Most times they come from people who are trying to tell you they’re not interested in you so don’t even try, or they are somebody who is constantly moving from “The one” to “the next one”.

The truth is, there’s a very good chance I will be alone forever. It happens to people. You’re only trying to convince yourself when you keep telling me I’ll find someone. Stop.

There are people I’m interested in. They know it (some are probably trying their best to avoid it too). But I come with so much baggage that it’s over before it can go anywhere.

I’m not saying I’m looking for my soul mate, not by a long shot. I just wish I had someone to share my dreams and desires with. Someone I can spend time with, someone who makes me feel like a human being physically. Yes, I said it, I would like to knock boots with someone. I need to feel something in my life. And feeling wanted and desired is a massive hole (that’s what she said) in my life.

I’m so tired of serving my time in this world alone. There are so few people who truly understand how lonely and alone I am. I wish someone would show interest in me, realistically. I can’t be anything other than what I am.

It’s just that i think fighting this battle and chasing the dream would be that much easier and more believable with someone by my side.

Career

I’ve been working non stop since the month left High School in 1996. My movement from one vocation to the next has been well documented. I’d never spent more than a year and a half at a particular job, and constantly found myself wanting to move on to the next challenge. It’s those facts that make my 5 year term at my current job such an anomaly. I love what I do, always have, but the time has come to move on. I won’t go into detail for obvious reasons.

I’ve been dealt a hand that has forced me to play the role of husband, home owner, and provider. This saddens me every day that my life is slipping away without ever having the opportunity to make selfish decisions.

Being the sole bread winner taking care of a parent, a house, replace things that break, need to be fixed and debts that aren’t mine is a task I’ve been doing for the longest time. I just can’t do it anymore. When I tell people how much I earn, their first words are “how do you survive??”

Surviving is easy. I’ve done it my whole life. But I need to live.

I always felt my job would be my key to getting out. Out of this life, this country, this personal hell that saddens me a little more every day. I’ve given everything I have to it. The truth is, its not going to give back.

I get it. I’m just a spoke in the wheel. I will never be the wheel itself.

Sometimes I feel live I’ve given up on what make’s me ME. I’m a creative soul who needs to be inspired, and for a while now I feel like I’ve locked that part of me away.

These are the realities of my life. I know a lot of what I said above will anger people. There will be those who once again dispense advice and attempt to get me to stop feeling sorry for myself. They will say they understand. They will mean it.

All I know is I’m the loneliest and saddest I’ve ever been in my life. I’m making hard decisions every day of my life.

We all know what my dream is, but I fear I won’t survive long enough. So until then…the idea of finding a cabin in the woods to be alone in, you know to grow my beard and write my books, is a pretty decent second choice.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “The Truth Shall Set You Free”

  1. C.B. Wentworth Says:

    Read “This is Water” by David Foster Wallace. It’s a transcript of a speech he gave at Kenyon University, where he discusses the very things that are dragging you down. Trust me he will change your perception of day in/day out existence. 🙂

  2. festivaaler Says:

    From my point of view… honesty is best.

    If you know what makes you happy why are you not doing any thing about it? Why have you been taking care of your abuser? Why do you owe that to her? and why do you not owe it to yourself to live your life the way you want to live it? There has to be some body that will take care of her. I have changed jobs many times to find fulfilment, but also to find what I am worth, and I will not give a job my all when it is could be the very thing raping me of my dreams to get out. At the end of the day money buys freedom and I dont care what people say but money can buy happiness. In your case you will need it. Not many woman find big beards attractive. Incase it very much comes down to personal hygine, and Im sorry but your beard could possibly fit a colony of birds in there. You’re an amazing person but people need chemistry. No girl likes an emo, unless she is an emo. Why would a girl possibly be attracted to some one that has such negative energy and thoughts. Yes you have had a completely shit time, and you have not been dealt a good hand, but you have talent and physical abilities to change that. There are people out there that are not as lucky.

    I really feel that the heading to this blog should be actions shall set you free, you know the truth, and blogging about it over and over will not change it.

    The natural process of things by your age is that you settle down, have a family and live in suburbia, no matter where that might be. South Africa makes a lot of people happy. We are not held here with a gun to our head. We have choices. A huge percentage of education thirty some thing year olds have traveled to different countries but we come back becuase home is where the heart is. South Africa is not a talentless gene pool. We all contribute to the economy in some sort of way. And the bad things as you mention irritate us all, but we have MANY things in this country that we love. That make us SOUTH AFRICAN’s.

    So here’s my little slice of honesty. Word.

    • The Burg Says:

      wow…this is a a terribly arrogant point of view which i cannot even take seriously, I wonder if you’ve even understood what you’ve just read in this blog? clearly not… (and yes we are held here with a gun to our head btw)

      • The Burg Says:

        …unfortunately Paris’ “wearing blinkers” view is as naive as her namesake.

  3. festivaaler Says:

    Maybe its just not what you expected to hear or read. Maybe you are used to people taking pity on you because of what you have been through. Maybe you are not used to being pushed to really get out of your current circumstances. Maybe you have been wearing blinkers for so long? Maybe this, maybe that.

  4. festivaaler Says:

    Im sorry you took such offense to my opinion, but it is only an opinion so why should you take it seriously. However, you cannot blog about your life if you refuse to take all opinions into account. You have made it very public, and I fear you will end your life too, and I really do not want that. At the end of the day you MUST be selfish to accomplish the life that you yearn for.

    I’m out.

Leave a Reply

