Cut From The Heart: Episode 8 – The Gamecube Girl & Excessive Blood Loss

During my call centre days, most of my social outings were with colleagues as we were all quite close. So things like movies, or dinners or parties would involve a lot of familiar work faces.

That’s probably the only thing I miss from that period of my life, so social aspect of it.

One such time was:

Bonus Story #8 – The Gamecube Girl

Image

Back in 2002, a bunch of us decided to go to the launch of the Gamecube gaming console which had an event at one of the local malls.

Since my tattoo artist happened to be in the same centre, I decided to get go get my second ever tattoo that morning and then spend some time with my mates playing games.

When we arrived, we all met up and decided how the day was going to unfold. What I wasn’t planning on, was the hot promo girls that were working the booths.

One in particular caught my eye, her name was Lorna (of course, I didn’t know this at the time, but my epic research skills would figure this out later).

Suddenly I was second guessing spending time getting a tattoo, while all the other guys got a head start with her in the queue.

But since  I had an appointment I didn’t wanna be the guy who didn’t pitch for a booked time. So I went to get my tattoo. It was to be a Roman numeral five on the back of my leg.

I took my rough design to the tattoo artist and gave told him to work his magic in magic it look good. However…things didn’t quite go as planned.

The tattoo artist was going through a divorce, and during my entire session he kept taking breaks to argue with his soon to be ex-wife on his mobile phone. It was probably the most uncomfortable tattoo session I’ve ever had. And the worst part was because of the placement of the tattoo, I spent about 90min standing on one leg.

Eventually the guy wrapped up the tattoo. And said he was done. As it was behind me, I couldn’t clearly see it, but trusted he took my rough sketch and at least added a bit of artist’s discretion to it. (He didn’t by the way…he literally inked it on as the rough sketch it was.)

At the time however, I was more concerned about getting back to the gaming expo to try my luck with the promo girl

When got back to my friends, they all asked to see my tattoo, and I’ll never forget as one guy said “dude, is it supposed to be bleeding so much?”

When I looked down, I could see the blood seeping through my tracksuit pants.

Anyways so began the 2o minute queuing sessions just so we could play 2 minutes of video games , of course these 2 minute session for me where about trying to win over the promo girl.

Each time we queued I was getting dizzier and dizzier as I continued to lose blood.

Finally my mates had said they’d had enough and were calling it a day. Pale as a ghost from the blood loss,  I tried to encourage them for one more round.

They didn’t stay.

So with no wingmen left, I called it day too. Disappointed in my effort.

2 weeks later however, I saw an advert saying the Gamecube expo was going to be at another shopping centre.

I managed to convince my friend Jared to come with me, and we headed out to Pretoria that week.

She was there!

But I think this time she avoided me a little more. I ironically ended up chatting more to her friends than to her, one of which was a former kid’s TV show host who ended up dating a friend of mine for a while.

I spent the next few weeks trying to make contact with her, eventually figuring out her email address and casually mailing her.

She showed no interest and the whole thing eventually died out rather quickly.

Every now and again I go see what she’s up to on Facebook.  As of last check, it seems like she’s living a happy life in London with her long term boyfriend.

However, every time I see the giant V on the back of my leg, I can’t help but to think back to her and that day I wouldn’t let a little excessive bleeding stop me from getting to know a girl.

I also found a new tattoo artist after that.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

